The Department of Mathematics came into being in 1960. Fifty years down the line, it has had much to feel happy about. It has had a faculty committed to the cause of excellence and also students—scores of them—who have brought glory to it by their brilliant academic performance. During the period 1985-2010 alone, several 1st classes apart, 7 students of the Dept. stood 1st class 1st in University exams, one of them securing the First position among all the science graduates of the University (1997). This speaks volumes.

The Department started with eight to ten boys on its rolls. These boys, already into their second year at Dinabandhu Andrews College (Garia), decided to forgo a precious year of their career and join the fledgling Department of Mathematics here. The first faculty comprised four teachers Sri Baidyanath Basu, Sri Sudarsan Das, Sri Rasik Chandra Chakraborty and Sri Gobindadev Bhattacharya. Sri Gobindadev Bhattacharya was the first Head of the Dept.

The Dept. was soon joined by Dr. Yudisthir De, Dr. Nanipada Bhanja, and a little later by Sri Makhanlal Nag who succeeded Sri G. Bhattacharya as HOD and served as Vice-Principal of the College till his retirement in 1979. The Dept. moved from strength to strength as years rolled by. From the very beginning the Dept. had the privilege of having some well-known teachers agree to teach here part-time, thanks largely to the initiative taken by Dr. Bikas Chandra Sanyal, the then Prof-in-charge of our College, whose great mentor was Swami Lokeswaranandaji himself. 

The Dept. will and does gratefully remember Sri Ramkrishna Ghosh (St. Xavier’s College), Sri Hemendra Kanta Ganguli (formerly of Scottish Church College) and Sri Murari Mohan Roy Choudhury (formerly of Presidency College and CU) and Sri Nalini Ranjan Roy for their services to and affection for the Dept. They the boost the Dept. needed for forging ahead in vigour.

No annals of the growth and development of the Dept. can do without a loving and respectful remembrance of Sri Sudarsan Das who joined the Dept. in 1961 and was its Head till his retirement in 1995. He was an outstanding teacher the memory of whose unique style of exposition left an indelible mark on the minds of his students. His students loved him and held him in the highest esteem. Affable, soft-spoken, affectionate, he served the Dept. with exemplary dedication. He was a good actor and directed many plays put on the boards during college functions. His superannuation in 1995 marked the end of an era in the history of the Dept.

Several ex-pupils of the Dept. are occupying top faculty positions in institutions of higher education in our country. Mention must be made in this connection of Dr. Imran Habib Biswas (TIFR), Dr. Ujjal Koley (TIFR), Dr. Sanjoy Pusti (IIT Kanpur), Dr. Suman Kundu (Vanderbilt University, Nashville), Dr. Ashish Mondal (IIT Kanpur), Sri Pravash Roy (CU Retd.), Sri Saktipada Ghorai (IIT, Kanpur), Sri Ranjit Dhar (Registrar, Vidyasagar University), Dr. Sunil Maity ( University of Calcutta), Sri Anjan Bhuniya (Visva Bharati) and Sri Prakash Chandra Mali (JU).

The present faculty of five members, headed by Dr. Nanigopal Mandal, has been putting in their best efforts to keep up the tradition of excellence set up by their predecessors. The students of the Dept., apart from their pursuit of academic excellence, have always shown a keen interest in the different co-curricular activities of the college.

The Dept. faculty is actively engaged in UGC-DST-sponsored research projects and publication of books and study materials. Dr. Nanigopal Mandal HOD has been guiding doctoral work for some time now. Dr. Parthasarathi Mukhopadhyay has a lot of solid achievements to his credit. He visited Bangkok, Hongkong, Berlin, Madrid and Budapest (Hungary) on invitation to present papers. Dr. Bijoy Kumar Bera who headed the Dept. from 1998 to 2010 played a significant role in sustaining the upward mobility of the Dept. and enhancing its reputation. Post retirement, he has been appointed Deputy Controller of Examinations of our College.

The Dept. does not rest on its laurels. It continues its efforts at further excellence and looks forward to a brighter future.