Department of Physics

“If all of mathematics disappeared, physics would be set back by exactly one week.” - Richard P. Feynman

The Department of Physics was opened in Ramakrishna Mission Residential College, Narendrapur and affiliated to Calcutta University offering Honours degree course from the very beginning of the college (in the year 1960). Prof. K. P. Ghosh from Scottish Church College joined this college as the Head of the department. Then, around the same time, joined many senior professors, namely Shri Abalakanta Choudhuri from Bankura Christan College, Sri Bhabani Bhattacharya from Surendranath College, Sri Kulada Prasad Roy Choudhury from Burdwan Raj College and Sri Himangshu Bimal Dey from Rajshahi University. They worked hard in shaping the department and developing the laboratory for performing various UG experiments. The department was further upgraded to its present form by Dr. J. N. Chakraborty, Prof. P. Sengupta, Prof S. Chakraborty, and Dr. A. K. Tewari, who acted as HOD in various periods of time. The role of Dr. S. Bardhan Roy and the Lab-attendant Sri Rakhal Chandra Pal in setting-up the UG experiments is also praiseworthy.

The seminar lectures by famous professors like Prof. S. N. Ghoshal, Shyamal kr Sengupta, B. B. Baliga, Prof. S. K. Chakraborty and many other such eminent persons were arranged every year for the enrichment of students and faculty members. The department has a high-profile academic record with a large number of students securing first class every year.  The students got top ranks in university examinations in most of the years, till it received its autonomous status from Calcutta University in 2009. The students have been doing well in various Master’s and Ph.D. entrance examinations consistently in every year. The post-graduate course in Physics was started in the year 2006. We have at present Condensed Matter Physics as Special paper and Astrophysics as an Elective paper. Most of the theoretical classes in Astrophysics are being taken in collaboration with Indian Centre for Space Physics, Kolkata. Right now, the faculty consists of Dr. Debabrata Das, Dr. Malay Purkait, Dr. Kaushik Sarkar, Dr. Jagadish Chandra Mahato, Sri Swapan Bhunia and Sri Amit Ray and Dr. D. K. Basak. Professors from different colleges, universities, research institutes as well as eminent retired professors from different universities take classes in physics department as Guest Professors regularly, both in the UG and PG sections. Regarding the research activities of the present faculty members of the department, Dr. M. Purkait has received research grants from CSIR, SERB, WBDST and UGC; Dr. D. Das has received minor research projects from UGC and Dr. J. C. Mahato has recently got research grants from WBDST. Dr. M. Purkait has been doing the research works in the field of Atomic Collision Physics and he has been guiding several research scholars. Dr. K. Sarkar, Dr. J. C. Mahato and Sri S. Bhunia are also engaged in research works in various fields. They have been publishing research papers in national and international journals regularly.


Dr. Malay Purkait(HOD)

M.Sc., Ph.D.
Associate Professor

Physics Faculty
Department of Physics

Dr. Debabrata Das

M.Sc, Ph.D.
Associate Professor

Dr. Kaushik Sarkar

M.Sc., Ph.D.
Assistant Professor

Dr. Jagadish Chandra Mahato

M.Sc., Ph.D.
Assistant Professor

Sri Swapan Bhunia

Assistant Professor

Sri Amit Ray

Assistant Professor

Dr. Dhiraj Kumar Basak,

M.Sc., Ph.D.
Chair Professor

Guest Faculties

1. Dr. S. Bardhan Roy
Retd. RKM Residential College 
2. Prof. B. Bagchi
University of Calcutta (Retd.)
3. Prof. D. Jana
University of Calcutta
4. Prof. Sourish Banerjee 
University of Calcutta 
5. Prof. Ashit Banerjee
Jadavpur University (Retd.) 
6. Dr. Joydeep Chaudhuri
Jadavpur University
7. Dr. Soumen Mondal
Jadavpur University 
8. Prof. Dhruba Dasgupta
University of North Bengal(Retd.) 
9. Prof.Prabal Mallick
B.U. (Retd.) 
10. Prof. Sandip Chakraborty
11. Dr. Ankan Das
12. Prof. Biswajit Chakraborty
SNBNCBS, Salt Lake 
13. Dr. Dirtha Sanyal
14. Dr. Sounak Palit
St. Xavier’s College
15. Dr. Ankus Sengupta
Amity University
16. Dr. Mrinal K. Chakraborty
St. Paul College 
17. Dr. Amit Tribedi
Sushil Kar College 
18. Dr. Chittajit Sarkar
Swami Vivekananda College 
19. Dr. Sukriti Ghosh
Shibpur Dinabandhu Instn. 
20. Dr. A. Ghosh Chaudhuri
Surendranath College 
21. Dr. Rajsekhar Bhattacharya
D. A. College 
22. Mr. Nilabja Halder
23. Mr. Prosenjit Maity
24. Mr. Prasanta Nandy
25. Mr. Samar Ghosh
IAS (Retd.)

Department Highlights

Student-Teacher Relationship

The Department boasts a good relationship between student teachers, with professors always being accessible to students, and students initiating attention through spontaneous love and regard.

Innovative Teaching Methods

  • Audio & Video Tools.
  • Stimulating Classroom Environment
  • Welcome New Ideas
  • Refer to Books On Creativity
  • Introduce Lessons Like a Story
  • Regular  Assignments
  • Seminar by the students & professors

Success story of students @RKMRC

Every year, a good number of students of RKMRC  have been admitted to integrated Ph.D., M.Sc., M.C.A. programmes of premiere institutes like TIFR,CMI, I.I.T. s, I.S.I., I.I.Sc. , IISERs and Central Universities and so on.

Computer LAB

The department has an uninterrupted internet facility with its own computer LAB. The ratio of students and PC’s is nearly 1:1.

Information and Communication Technology (ICT)

ICT assists teachers in interacting with students. It helps them with their teaching preparation, providing feedback. ICT helps teachers access institutions and universities, NCERT, NAAC NCTE, UGC, etc. It also helps in the effective use of teaching-learning process ICT software and hardware.